

REID RESIDENTS' ASSOCIATION INC.

Formed 14 Aug 1944 Association No. AO 1247 ISSN 1030-0651 www.reid.northcanberra.org.au

Minutes of Annual General Meeting: 6 pm 30th March 2021

Mercure Hotel Ainslie Avenue

Attending: Twenty-one members were in attendance

1. Welcome and Apologies

Marianne opened the meeting with an acknowledgement of Country and welcomed members and guests. Apologies were noted from Elizabeth Lee, ACT Liberal Leader and Opposition Leader of the Legislative Assembly. There were apologies from five Reid Residents. Marianne also welcomed the two guest speakers Rebecca Vassarotti MLA and Jack Waterford AM.

2. Address by Rebecca Vassarotti MLA

Rebecca Vassarotti is currently a Greens member of the ACT Legislative Assembly and serves as Minister for the Environment, Heritage, Homelessness and Housing Services and Sustainable Building and Construction. Rebecca began her address 'Heritage Matters' by outlining her personal links to Canberra and her serious commitment to heritage. Click for her speech

She was pleased to announce that since her time in government four new members had been elected to the ACT Heritage Council and its website will be updated to provide a contemporary and proactive site with a highly functional database.

Other issues, which the Greens are pursuing, and which Rebecca felt would be of interest to Reid residents:

- More stable and ongoing financial support has been promised to the National Trust (ACT). Rebecca acknowledged the importance of the National Trust to the Canberra community and the need for certainty and security of funding.
- Discussion between the Commonwealth Environment Department and the ACT Government over the question of National Heritage Listing for Canberra are at an advanced stage
- Preferred more flexible heritage guidelines to Conservation Management Plans.

She thanked the Reid Residents' Association (RRA) for participating in the Heritage Grants program and the Heritage Festival. Rebecca stressed that Residents should contact Access Canberra with any concerns arising regarding the suburb e.g. parking, graffiti, maintenance.

There were questions from the floor regarding the DOMA site on Limestone Avenue and the War Memorial extensions.

3. Address by Jack Waterford AM

Jack's address focussed on the governance of Canberra stating that with more Green members in the Legislative Assembly it is to be hoped that they would be able to influence the Assembly to adopt a more positive consultative approach to increasing development and

haphazard planning. There has been little progress to the once innovative policies and farsighted programs established decades ago so there is a feeling that the Territory has stagnated and progress is backwards.

Jack's response to National Heritage Listing should be that the whole area within the boundary of Canberra be included not merely the Inner suburbs.

Jack is a strong advocate for the ACT to truly attain the status of a National Capital, a city to which all Australians could relate with excellence in planning, education, health and innovative trends. There now appears to be no long-term vision or motivation by Federal politicians for Canberra to be more respected as a National Capital for Australia.

4. Annual General Meeting

Marianne thanked both guest speakers for their attendance and points for discussion raised and proceeded to open the Annual General Meeting. The Minutes of the AGM 2019–2020 were tabled and confirmed by the meeting.

5. Matters Arising

No matters were arising.

6. Report from President of Reid Residents Association

The 2020–2021 President's report was distributed to the meeting and is attached. Marianne thanked the Committee members for their continued support and committed efforts to the work of the Committee.

7. Report from Treasurer and adoption of 2020 – 2021 financial statements

The financial report to which Derk Swieringa (Treasurer) spoke, was tabled and accepted by the meeting. A copy of the financial report is attached.

8. Appointment of Auditor

Derk proposed Scott McAlister as the Association's auditor, and this was accepted by the meeting.

9. Election of Officers

Marianne stood aside whilst Gary Fan took the Chair to conduct the election.

Marianne Albury-Colless was re-elected to President, Amanda Reynolds, Secretary and Derk Swieringa will continue as Treasurer and Public Officer. Warren Nicholls, Molly Henman, Robyn Bergin, Roy Jordan, John Henderson, Sue Byrne nominated to be Committee members. There were no further nominations from the floor. All committee nominees were accepted by acclamation.

10. Other Business

There being no other business Marianne thanked the members for their attendance and closed the meeting at 8 pm. At the conclusion of the meeting 11 members adjourned to the Bistro of the Mercure Hotel.